Campus Directory

College of Arts and Sciences

Jason C Johnston

Chair of the College of Arts and Sciences, Associate Professor of Wildlife Ecology


Jason C Johnston

Department: College of Arts and Sciences , Biology , Environmental Science and Sustainability

Campus Address: 315 South Hall

Phone: (207) 768-9652

Fax: (207) 768-9553

Email: jason.johnston@maine.edu

Website: http://connect.umpi.maine.edu/~jason.johnston/

Education:
B.A., Bowdoin College, 1997
M.S., University of Delaware, 2001
Ph.D., University of Maine, 2007

Pamela Easler

Administrative Specialist


Pamela Easler

Department: College of Arts and Sciences

Campus Address: 121 South Hall

Phone: (207) 768-9450

Email: pamela.easler@maine.edu

Education:
A.A.S., Northern Maine Community College, 2013

Lea Knudsen Allen

Assistant Professor of English


Lea Knudsen Allen

Department: College of Arts and Sciences , English

Campus Address: 208 South Hall

Phone: (207) 768-9521

Email: lea.allen@maine.edu

Education:
B.A., University of Maine at Presque Isle, 2000
Ph.D., Brown University, 2008

Sukhwinder Bali

Assistant Professor of Sustainable Agriculture


Sukhwinder Bali

Department: College of Arts and Sciences , Environmental Science and Sustainability

Campus Address: 207 South Hall

Phone: (207) 768-9402

Email: sukhwinder.bali@maine.edu

Leigh A Belair, MEd, MT (ASCP)

Program Co-Director MLT Program of Maine at UMPI, Assistant Professor


Leigh A Belair, MEd, MT (ASCP)

Department: College of Arts and Sciences , Medical Laboratory Technology

Campus Address: 205 South Hall

Phone: (207) 768-9440

Fax: (207) 768-9553

Email: leigh.belair@maine.edu

Education:
B.A., University of Maine at Orono, 1994
MT (ASCP), 1994
M.Ed., University of Maine at Orono, 2009

Hyrum Benson

Assistant Professor of Fine Art


Hyrum Benson

Department: College of Arts and Sciences , Art

Campus Address: 304 South Hall

Phone: (207) 768-9441

Email: hyrum.benson@maine.edu

Education:
A.S.A., Brigham Young University, 2003
B.F.A., Brigham Young University, 2005
M.F.A., University of North Texas, 2008

John DeFelice

Associate Professor of History


John DeFelice

Department: College of Arts and Sciences , History and Political Science

Campus Address: 209 South Hall

Phone: (207) 768-9438

Email: john.defelice@maine.edu

Education:
B.A., Gordon College, 1991
M.A., Miami University, 1994
Ph.D., Miami University, 1998

Scott Dobrin

Assistant Professor of Biology


Scott Dobrin

Department: College of Arts and Sciences , Biology

Campus Address: 300 South Hall

Phone: (207) 768-9609

Email: scott.dobrin@maine.edu

Website: http://connect.umpi.edu/~scott.dobrin/

Education:
B.S., University of Florida, 2003
M.S., North Carolina State University, 2006
Ph.D., Wake Forest University, 2011

Larry Feinstein

Assistant Professor of Biology


Larry Feinstein

Department: College of Arts and Sciences , Biology , Environmental Science and Sustainability

Campus Address: 308 South Hall

Phone: (207) 768-9498

Email: larry.feinstein@maine.edu

Education:
B.S., Wright State University, 1999
Ph.D., Kent State University, 2012

Maria Hays MS, MLT (ASCP)

Microbiology Instructor, MLT 204


Deborah L Hodgkins

Associate Professor of English


Deborah L Hodgkins

Department: College of Arts and Sciences , English , Learning Commons

Campus Address: 210 South Hall

Phone: (207) 768-9423

Email: deborah.hodgkins@maine.edu

Education:
B.A., College of the Holy Cross, 1987
M.A., University of Pittsburgh, 1989
Ph.D., University of New Hampshire, 1998

Paul Johnson

Assistant Professor of Psychology


Paul Johnson

Department: College of Arts and Sciences , Psychology

Campus Address: 206 South Hall

Phone: (207) 768-9455

Email: paul.e.johnson@maine.edu

Education:
B.A., University of Southern Maine, 2000
M.S., University of Southern Maine, 2003
Ph.D., University of Southern Maine, 2008

Michael A Knopp

Associate Professor of Chemistry


Michael A Knopp

Department: College of Arts and Sciences , Environmental Science and Sustainability

Campus Address: 307 South Hall, 207 Folsom Hall

Phone: (207) 768-9483

Email: michael.knopp@maine.edu

Education:
B.A., State University of New York,1976
M.S., State University of New York, 1980
Ph.D., Syracuse University, 1989

Scott D. Lowell, MHA, MLS (ASCP)CM

Program Co-Director MLT Program of Maine at UMA


Scott D. Lowell, MHA, MLS (ASCP)CM

Department: Medical Laboratory Technology

Phone: (207) 626-1407

Email: scott.d.lowell@maine.edu

Jacquelyn Lowman

Associate Professor, Professional Communication and Journalism


Jacquelyn Lowman

Department: College of Arts and Sciences , English , Professional Communication

Campus Address: 114 Pullen Hall

Phone: (207) 768-9745

Email: jacquelyn.lowman@maine.edu

Website: https://sites.google.com/a/maine.edu/life-is-a-gift/

Education:
B.A., Connecticut College, 1993
M.A., University of Chicago, 1997
Ph.D., Michigan State University, 2004

Zhu-Qi Lu

Professor of Mathematics


Zhu-Qi Lu

Department: College of Arts and Sciences , Mathematics

Campus Address: 310 South Hall

Phone: (207) 768-9444

Email: zhuqi.lu@maine.edu

Education:
B.A., Beijing Polytechnic University, 1982
M.A., Beijing Polytechnic University, 1985
Ph.D., State University of New York at Buffalo, 1989

Kevin McCartney

Professor of Geology; Director of the Northern Maine Museum of Science


Kevin McCartney

Department: College of Arts and Sciences , Environmental Science and Sustainability

Campus Address: 302 Folsom Hall

Phone: (207) 768-9482

Email: kevin.mccartney@maine.edu

Website: http://connect.umpi.maine.edu/~kevin.mccartney/

Education:
B.S., Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, 1976
M.S., Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, 1981
Ph.D., Florida State University, 1988

David E Putnam

Lecturer of Science


David E Putnam

Department: College of Arts and Sciences , Environmental Science and Sustainability

Campus Address: 214 South Hall

Phone: (207) 768-9726

Email: david.putnam@maine.edu

Education:
B.A., University of Maine at Farmington, 1985
M.S., University of Maine, 1993

Judith Ladd Roe

Assistant Professor of Biology


Judith Ladd Roe

Department: College of Arts and Sciences , Biology

Campus Address: 316 South Hall

Phone: (207) 768-9446

Email: judith.roe@maine.edu

Website: https://sites.google.com/a/maine.edu/roe-laboratory-at-umpi/home

Education:
B.A., Vassar College, 1979
M.S., George Washington University, 1982
Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University, 1990

Allen L Salo

Associate Professor of Psychology


Allen L Salo

Department: College of Arts and Sciences , Psychology

Campus Address: 309 South Hall

Phone: (207) 768-9411

Email: allen.salo@maine.edu

Education:
B.A., Northern Michigan University, 1985
M.A., University of Nebraska at Omaha, 1987
Ph.D., University of Florida, 1992

Kimberly R Sebold

Professor of History


Kimberly R Sebold

Department: College of Arts and Sciences , History and Political Science

Campus Address: 314 South Hall

Phone: (207) 768-9721

Email: kimberly.sebold@maine.edu

Education:
B.A., University of Delaware, 1988
M.A., University of Delaware, 1990
Ph.D., University of Maine, 1998

Lakesh Sharma

Assistant Professor of Sustainable Agriculture


Lakesh Sharma

Department: College of Arts and Sciences , Environmental Science and Sustainability

Campus Address: 207 South Hall

Phone: (207) 768-9402

Email: lakesh.sharma@maine.edu

Karen Stackhouse, MLT (ASCP)

Microbiology Lab Instructor


Franklin V Thompson

Assistant Professor of Psychology


Franklin V Thompson

Department: College of Arts and Sciences , Psychology

Campus Address: 204 South Hall

Phone: (207) 768-9417

Fax: (888) 269-2099

Email: franklin.thompson@maine.edu

Education:
B.A., Pennsylvania State University, 1966
M.Ed., Kutztown State University, 1973
Ed.D., Lehigh University, 1981

Chunzeng Wang

Professor of Earth and Environmental Studies


Chunzeng Wang

Department: College of Arts and Sciences , Environmental Science and Sustainability

Campus Address: 306 South Hall

Phone: (207) 768-9412

Fax: (207) 768-9553

Email: chunzeng.wang@maine.edu

Website: http://connect.umpi.maine.edu/~chunzeng.wang/

Education:
B.S., Guilin Institue of Technology, 1984
M.S., China University of Geosciences, 1989
M.Phi., City University of New York, 2000
Ph.D., City University of New York, 2001

John J Zaborney

Professor of History


John J Zaborney

Department: College of Arts and Sciences , History and Political Science

Campus Address: 215 South Hall

Phone: (207) 768-9409

Email: john.zaborney@maine.edu

Education:
B.A., Bridgewater College, 1989
M.A., State University of New York, 1991
Ph.D., University of Maine, 1997

Richard Zuras

Professor of English and Creative Writing


Richard Zuras

Department: College of Arts and Sciences , English

Campus Address: 317 South Hall

Phone: (207) 768-9403

Email: richard.zuras@maine.edu

Education:
B.A., George Mason University, 1990
M.A., M.F.A., McNesse State University, 1998

Brent Andersen

Assistant Professor of Political Science (Adjunct)


Brent Andersen

Department: College of Arts and Sciences , History and Political Science

Email: brent.andersen@maine.edu

Education:
B.A., University of Utah, 1987
M.A., University of Wisconsin, 1991
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, 2002

Jeffrey S. Armstrong

Adjunct Faculty


Jeffrey S. Armstrong

Department: College of Arts and Sciences

Email: jeffrey.armstrong@maine.edu

Education:
M.S., Brunel University, 1991
Ph.D., Tulane University, 1995

Joan E Barton

Adjunct Faculty


Joan E Barton

Department: College of Arts and Sciences

Email: joan.barton@maine.edu

Education:
B.S., University of Maine at Orono, 1976
M.S., Texas A&M University, 1990
M.B.A., Villanova University, 1992

Clifton E Boudman

Adjunct Faculty


Clifton E Boudman

Department: College of Arts and Sciences , Art

Email: clifton.boudman@maine.edu

Website: http://www.cliftonboudman.com/

Education:
B.F.A., Virginia Commonwealth University, 1964
M.F.A., Maryland Institute College of Art, Rinehart School of Sculpture Fellow, 1966

Natalija A Brewer

Adjunct Faculty


Natalija A Brewer

Department: College of Arts and Sciences

Email: natasha.brewer@maine.edu

Education:
M.S., Chernovesty State University, 1994

Catherine A Chase

Adjunct Faculty; Tutor Coordinator and Science Specialist


Catherine A Chase

Department: College of Arts and Sciences , Learning Commons , Student Support Services

Campus Address: First Floor, CIL

Phone: (207) 768-9461

Email: catherine.a.chase@maine.edu

Education:
B.S., University of Vermont, 1979
M.S., California State University, 1987

Melissa M Crowe

Adjunct Faculty


Melissa M Crowe

Department: College of Arts and Sciences , English

Phone: (207) 775-0346

Email: melissa.crowe@maine.edu

Education:
B.A., University of Maine, 1996
M.F.A., Sara Lawerence College, 1999
Ph.D., University of Georgia, 2004

J Donald Cyr

Adjunct Faculty


J Donald Cyr

Department: College of Arts and Sciences

Phone: (207) 768-9467

Email: joseph.cyr@maine.edu

Education:
B.S., University of Maine at Presque Isle, 1969
M.S., University of Maine at Orono, 1971
M.E.D., University of Maine at Orono, 1971
B.A., University of Maine at Presque Isle, 1974

Krista A Delahunty

Adjunct Faculty


Krista A Delahunty

Department: College of Arts and Sciences

Email: kristad@maine.edu

Education:
B.S., Memorial University of Newfoundland, 2000
M.S., Memorial University of Newfoundland, 2003

John J Dennis

Adjunct Faculty


John J Dennis

Department: College of Arts and Sciences

Email: john.dennis@maine.edu

Education:
A.A., Northern Maine Community College, 2001
A.A., Northern Maine Community College, 2002

Carson V Dobrin

Adjunct Faculty


Carson V Dobrin

Department: College of Arts and Sciences

Email: carson.dobrin@maine.edu

Education:
B.S., University of Colorado, 2004
Ph.D., Wake Forest University, 2011
M.E.D., Wake Forest University, 2012

Carmen Doheny

Adjunct Faculty


Carmen Doheny

Department: College of Arts and Sciences

Email: carmen.doheny@maine.edu

Education:
B.A., Arcadia University, 2006
M.A., Arcadia University, 2008

Sara Douglas

Adjunct Faculty


Sara Douglas

Department: College of Arts and Sciences

Email: sara.douglas@maine.edu

Education:
B.S., Ricker College, 1965
M.S., University of Southern Maine, 1993

Patricia Lynn Eldershaw

Adjunct Faculty


Patricia Lynn Eldershaw

Department: College of Arts and Sciences

Email: lynn.eldershaw@maine.edu

Education:
B.A., McMaster University, 1992
M.A., Acadia University, 1994
Ph.D., University of Waterloo, 2004
BSN, University at Fort Kent, 2013

Elizabeth R Flaherty

Adjunct Faculty


Elizabeth R Flaherty

Department: College of Arts and Sciences

Email: elizabeth.flaherty@maine.edu

Education:
B.A., Moravian College, 1997
M.A., Marywood University, 2001

Andrea Gelder

Adjunct Faculty


Andrea Gelder

Department: College of Arts and Sciences

Email: andrea.gelder@maine.edu

Education:
B.A., Northeast University, 1972
Ph.D., University of Leeds, 1980

John R Haley

Adjunct Faculty


John R Haley

Department: College of Arts and Sciences

Phone: (207) 227-1967

Email: john.haley@maine.edu

Education:
B.S., Aroostook State College, 1968
M.E.D., University of Maine at Orono, 1970

Cheryl Ann Kittredge

Adjunct Faculty


Cheryl Ann Kittredge

Department: College of Arts and Sciences

Email: annk@maine.edu

Education:
B.A., Wilfrid Laurier University, 1971

Barbara Ladner

Adjunct Faculty


Barbara Ladner

Department: College of Arts and Sciences

Phone: (207) 764-1482

Email: barbara.ladner@maine.edu

Education:
B.A., Bob Jones University, 1964
M.A., Middlebury College, 1990

Jeffrey A Lovejoy

Adjunct Faculty


Jeffrey A Lovejoy

Department: College of Arts and Sciences

Email: jlovejoy@maine.edu

Education:
B.A., Worcester State College, 1990
M.F.A., Colorado State University, 1995

Kasey M G McNeally

Adjunct Faculty


Kasey M G McNeally

Department: College of Arts and Sciences

Email: kasey.grieco@maine.edu

Education:
B.A., Guilford College, 2000
M.F.A., University of Southern Maine, 2004

Ronald Henry Murray

Adjunct Faculty


Ronald Henry Murray

Department: College of Arts and Sciences

Email: ronald.h.murray@maine.edu

Education:
B.A., Bob Jones University, 1970
M.E.D., University of Maine at Orono, 1982

Eric J Pelkey

Adjunct Faculty


Eric J Pelkey

Department: College of Arts and Sciences

Email: ejpelkey@yahoo.com

Education:
B.A., University of Maine at Presque Isle, 2001
M.A., University of Rhode Island, 2003

Imelda Perley

Adjunct Faculty


Imelda Perley

Department: College of Arts and Sciences

Phone: (506) 273-4277

Email: imelda.perley1@maine.edu

Education:
B.A., University of New Brunswick, 1994
M.E.D., University of New Brunswick, 2002

Gloria Powers

Adjunct Faculty


Gloria Powers

Department: College of Arts and Sciences

Phone: (207) 532-2031

Email: gloria.powers@maine.edu

Education:
B.S., University of Maine at Presque Isle, 1972
M.E.D., University of New England, 2005

Lisa J Prescott

Adjunct Faculty


Lisa J Prescott

Department: College of Arts and Sciences

Email: lisa.prescott@maine.edu

Education:
B.S., Bradley University, 1986

Anthony D Scott

Adjunct Faculty


Anthony D Scott

Department: College of Arts and Sciences

Email: anthony.scott@maine.edu

Education:
B.A., University of Maine at Presque Isle, 2013

Ted Shapiro

Adjunct Faculty


Ted Shapiro

Department: College of Arts and Sciences

Email: tshapiro@maine.edu

Education:
B.A., University of Wisconsin, 1983
M.S., Mississippi State, 1998