News & Events

Students recognized for academic excellence

The University of Maine at Presque Isle’s Phi Eta Sigma recently held a ceremony to induct its newest members. Nineteen students received certificates signifying their achievement.

The nation’s oldest and largest freshman honor society with over 350 chapters and more than 900,000 members, Phi Eta Sigma’s goal is to encourage and reward academic excellence among first-year students in institutions of higher learning.

The induction of new members stands as an outward recognition of academic achievement, and serves as an incentive for continued high scholarship. Members may apply for scholarships available from national and local chapters.

On campuses with an active chapter of Phi Eta Sigma, all freshmen who have a cumulative grade-point average of at least 3.5 on a 4.0 scale at the end of any full-time curricular period are automatically eligible for membership, provided they have carried a normal academic load acceptable toward a Bachelor’s degree and rank in the upper 20 percent of their class.

The following UMPI students were inducted: April Anne Arwood, Elizabeth Marie Bell, Richard Fernand Clavette, Tamara Elizabeth Dayringer, Mary Kathleen Higgins, Nicholas C E Johnson, Randi Elizabeth Kaplan, Angela JoLinn Lagasse, Jonathan Everett Steven Madore, Margaret Mae McAdams, Leah Michelle McEachern, Sarah Jeanne McGlinn, Courtney Brooke McHugh, Brennen David Morton, Kayla Marie Pickering-Ames, Sarah Abigail Pickering-Ames, Roxanne Poole, Michelle Renee Russell, and Carolynn Elizabeth Tuck.

The executive committee of UMPI’s chapter include: Rebecca Stepp – President; Stephanie Corriveau – Vice President, Mika Ouellette – Treasurer; Danielle Pelkey – Secretary; Stephanie Corriveau – Historian/Correspondent; and Jim Stepp – Advisor.