2015 Awards

2015 Awards

The University of Maine at Presque Isle celebrated its 2015 Awards Ceremony on Sunday, April 26, presenting awards, scholarships and other academic honors to more than 70 students. The annual awards ceremony includes student awards for outstanding achievement in academic areas, scholarship announcements, student leadership awards, and the recognition of UMPI’s Maine Policy Scholar, Honors Program participants, and student government leaders. The Distinguished Teaching Award and Distinguished Staff Award also are given during the event.

College of Education Awards

Outstanding Elementary Education Major Award

Audra Kirk

Outstanding Secondary Education Major Award

Darby Toth

Post-Baccalaureate Education Student Award

Heather Oram

Outstanding Physical Education Major Award

Stephen Thorne & Taylor Thiboutot

Ruel Parks “Rising Star” Memorial Scholarship 

Hilary Saucy

College of Professional Programs Awards

Outstanding Achievement in the Field of Accounting

Taylor Bradbury

Outstanding Achievement in the Field of Management & Leadership

Bethany Millet & Christopher Phillips

Outstanding Achievement in the Field of Project Management & Information Systems

Riley Parady

Outstanding Achievement in the Field of Recreation

Victoria Winslow

Outstanding Athletic Training Major Award

Luke Fuller & Molly Lindsey

Outstanding Fitness & Wellness Major Award

Ethan Burke

Outstanding Criminal Justice Major Award

Morgan Svitila

Outstanding Social Work Student Award

Melanie Maynard

College of Arts and Sciences Awards

Humanities Scholarship

Melissa Lizotte

English Book Award

Hannah Brilliant

Outstanding Achievement in Professional Communication and Journalism

Rebecca Campbell

University Times Advisor Award

Christopher Bowden

Fine Art Talent Award for Outstanding Studio Achievement

Jessalyn Levesque & Renee Royal

Art History Award

Katelyn Hartford

Film Scholar Award

Derek Boudreau

Outstanding History Major Award

Samantha Hayes

2015 Dr. Linda Graves MLT Award

Adrianna Paradis

Mathematics-Science Merit Award

Yuting Zhou

General Biology I Award

Kaitlyn Belanger

AFUM Scholarships

Daniel Patterson Scholarship

Andrew Mullane

John K. Steinbaugh Scholarship

Kelsey Churchill

Students recognized for their participation in the Honors Program

Miranda Bickford
Jennifer Blaisdell
Brandon Bonney
Hannah Boyce
Kelsey Churchill
Jessica Coppola
Mallorie Cyr
Hazen Dauphinee
Elizabeth Day
Ashley Drost
Taylor Dwyer
Erica Hemphill
Andrew Hunt
David Huntley
Katarina Jenson
Jamie Martin
Natasha Smith
Michelle Tardif

Maine Policy Scholar 2014—2015

Kasandra Foster

Student Leadership Awards

Resident Assistant of the Year

Molly Lindsey

Student Organization of the Year

Criminal Justice Society

Outstanding Volunteer Community Service Project of the Year

Student Organization of Social Workers

Outstanding Sophomore Student Leader of the Year

Margaret Hart

Outstanding Junior Student Leader of the Year

Elizabeth Day

Outstanding Senior Student Leader of the Year

Victoria Winslow

Student Government Association Scholarships

Monica G. Gilbert Memorial Scholarship

Emma Ruff

Alan Arman Memorial Scholarship

Shawna McDonough

T.W. Morrison Scholarship

Leanna Humphrey

Steven Edward Eagles Memorial Scholarship

Ben Everett

Members of the Student Government Association, 2014–2015

Craig Pullen, President
Jason Fortin, Vice President
James J. Stepp, Parliamentarian
Katharine Waldron, Treasurer/Secretary
Elizabeth Day, BOT Representative
Matt Glover
Sara Hamlin
Blake Winslow
Chana Yagod

Faculty and Staff Awards

Distinguished Teaching Award

Stacey Emery

Distinguished Staff Award

Amanda Baker