2018 Awards

2018 Awards

The University of Maine at Presque Isle celebrated its 2018 Awards Ceremony on Sunday, April 22, presenting awards, scholarships and other academic honors to more than 50 students. The annual awards ceremony includes student awards for outstanding achievement in academic areas, scholarship announcements, student leadership awards, and the recognition of UMPI’s Maine Policy Scholar, Honors Program participants, and student government leaders. The Distinguished Teaching Award and Distinguished Staff Award also are given during the event.

College of Education Awards

Outstanding Elementary Education Major Award

Katherine McKenna

Outstanding Secondary Education Major Award

Lacey McQuarrie

Outstanding Post-Baccalaureate Education Student Award

Cason Harris

Outstanding Education Student Award

Stacey Landry

Outstanding Physical Education Major Award

Hannah Williams

Ruel Parks Memorial Award 

Ryan Sanderson

College of Professional Programs Awards

Outstanding Athletic Training Major Award

Sara Packard

Outstanding Achievement in the field of Exercise Science

Jessy Dickison

Outstanding Criminal Justice Major Award

Valentina Annunziata

Alpha Phi Sigma Honor Award

Valentina Annunziata

Outstanding Social Work Student Award

Christine Lapointe

Outstanding Achievement in the Field of Accounting

Candice Smith and Matthew Curry

Outstanding Achievement in the Field of Management & Leadership

Logan Caron

Outstanding Achievement in the Field of Project Management & Information Systems

Karson Wilcox

Outstanding Achievement in the Field of Recreation

Ashley Dube

College of Arts and Sciences Awards

Humanities Scholarship

Brandy Smith

English Book Award

Monica Hewitt

Outstanding Achievement in Professional Communication and Journalism

Monica Hewitt

University Times Advisor Award

Brandy Smith

Fine Art Talent Award for Outstanding Studio Achievement

Arianna Forbes

Film Scholar Award

Brianna Gerrish

Outstanding History Major Award

Deana Bailey and Kelsey Buck

Math-Science Scholarship Award

Darius Haskell and Lydia Tilley

Dr. Linda Graves MLT Award

Miranda Lento

Maine Policy Scholar 2017-2018

Valentina Annunziata

Students recognized for their participation in the Honors Program

Samantha Bonczyk
Michael Dobbs
Sarah Harris
Darius Haskell
Andrew Hunt
Frank Nunez
Lydia Tilley
Adam Weyeneth
Evan Zarkadas

Student Leadership Awards

Student Organization of the Year Award

History Club

Advisor of the Year Award

Kimberly Sebold

Rising Star Award

Adam Weyeneth

Outstanding Student Leader Award

Valentina Annunziata

Resident Assistant of the Year Award

Christian Mumley

UMPI Spirit Award

Tiffany Smith

Civic Engagement and Involvement Award

Evan Zarkadas

WUPI 92.1 FM Scholarship

Ciera Alexys Radel Memorial Scholarship

Evan Zarkadas

Student Government Association Scholarships

Alan Arman Memorial Scholarship

Lydia Tilley

Monica G. Gilbert Memorial Scholarship

Roni Shaw

Steven Edward Eagles Memorial Scholarship

Sarina Raposo

T.W. Morrison Scholarship

Valentina Annunziata

Members of the Student Government Association, 2017-2018

Daria Wozmak, President
Alexandra DesRuisseaux, Vice President and BOT Student Representative
Evan Zarkadas, Parliamentarian
Elizabeth Butterfield, Secretary
Matt Payan, Treasurer
Max Bushman, Owl’s Production Chair
Samantha Bonczyk, Senator
Rebecca Dillenbeck, Senator
Andrew Hunt, Senator
Adan Mohamed, Senator
Katherine Waldron, Senator
Seth Woodman, Senator

Faculty and Staff Awards

Distinguished Teaching Award

Ann Osgood

Distinguished Staff Award

Jeffrey Stevens