2019 Awards

2019 Awards

The University of Maine at Presque Isle celebrated its 2019 Awards Ceremony on Sunday, April 28, presenting awards, scholarships and other academic honors to more than 50 students. The annual awards ceremony includes student awards for outstanding achievement in academic areas, scholarship announcements, student leadership awards, and the recognition of UMPI’s Maine Policy Scholar, Honors Program participants, and student government leaders. The Distinguished Teaching Award and Distinguished Staff Award also are given during the event.

College of Professional Programs

  • Outstanding Post-Baccalaureate Education Student Award: Erin McLellan
  • Outstanding Elementary Education Major: Hailey Ingraham
  • Outstanding Secondary Education Major: Alexandra DesRuisseaux
  • Outstanding Education Achievement Award: Victoria Tracy & Erin Sandstrom
  • Outstanding Physical Education Major: Ryan Sanderson
  • Ruel Parks Memorial Scholarship: Yvonne Hartridge
  • Outstanding Athletic Training Major: Alexander Folsom
  • Outstanding Achievement in the Field of Exercise Science: Melissa Hotham
  • Outstanding Criminal Justice Major Award: Courtney Cote
  • Alpha Phi Sigma Honor Award: Kody Gates
  • Outstanding Achievement in the Field of Accounting: Jennifer Chapman & Madison Shaw
  • Outstanding Achievement in the Field of Management & Leadership: Lauren Chapman
  • Outstanding Achievement in the Field of Project Management & Information Systems: Jessica Cameron

College of Arts & Sciences

  • English Book Award: Brandy Smith
  • Outstanding Achievement in Professional Communication & Journalism: Brandy Smith
  • University Times Advisor Award: Abigail Davis & Brandy Smith
  • Humanities Scholarship Award: Jami Cass
  • Film Scholar Award: Jordan Haddad
  • Art History Award: Brianna Gerrish
  • Fine Art Talent Award for Outstanding Studio Achievement: Jami Cass
  • Outstanding History Major Award: Emmy Churchill & Evan Zarkadas
  • Outstanding Online History Major Award: Krista Heatley & Carly Small
  • Mathematics-Science Scholarship Award: Lydia Tilley
  • Dr. Linda Graves MLT Award: Anna Messerschmidt

Maine Policy Scholar 2018-2019

  • Maine Policy Scholar: Evan Zarkadas

Students Active in the University Honors Program

  • Kate Asam
  • Lacey Good
  • Sarah Harris
  • Darius Haskell
  • Matthew Payan
  • Cody Theriault
  • Adam Weyeneth
  • Evan Zarkadas

Student Leadership Awards

  • Student Organization of the Year Award:  National Society of Leadership and Success
  • Student Organization Advisor of the Year Award: Stacy Thibodeau
  • Rising Star of the Year Award: Shyquinn Dix
  • Outstanding Student Leader Award: Eric Macek
  • Civic Engagement and Involvement Award: Manish Pandey
  • Resident Assistant of the Year Award: Kendra Silvers
  • UMPI Spirit Award: Jean Henderson & Ines Ngoga

WUPI 92.1FM Scholarship

  • Ciera Alexys Radal Memorial Scholarship: Rebecca Dillenbeck

Student Government Association Scholarships

  • Alan Arman Memorial Scholarship: Mackenzie Lee
  • Monica G. Gilbert Memorial Scholarship: Roni Shaw
  • T.W. Morrison Scholarship: Brooke Hallett
  • Steven Eagles Memorial Scholarship: Adam Weyeneth

Student Government Association Members 2018-2019

  • Max Bushman
  • Rebecca Dillenbeck
  • Laura Fitzgerald
  • Sean S. Miller
  • Matthew Payan
  • Dacian Robert
  • Evan Zarkadas

Distinguished Teaching Award & Distinguished Staff Award

  • Distinguished Teaching Award: Leigh Belair
  • Distinguished Staff Award: Amanda Baker